UNM Foundation Welcomes New Board Members

UNM Foundation Welcomes New Board Members

Posted July 26, 2020

(ALBUQUERQUE, NM) The University of New Mexico Foundation is proud to announce the addition of four new members to its Board of Trustees and the appointment of new officers to its Board leadership. The new members and board officers began their two-year terms on July 1.

“We’re thrilled to welcome our new board members and their vast experience,  accomplishments and passion for UNM” says Jeff Todd, President and CEO of the UNM Foundation. “As we transition our board leadership, their impact to the UNM community will expand upon the great work, commitment, and wisdom contributed by departing members of our board.”

James Ellis (San Marino, CA)

James Ellis is an academician, professor, and former business executive who for fourteen years, was dean of the Marshall School of Business at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles, California. Ellis moved to Albuquerque, New Mexico, where his father, George James Ellis, served as an executive for a bank; then in 1962, he co-founded the American Bank of Commerce in Albuquerque. In Albuquerque, Ellis attended Jefferson Middle School and Highland High School, graduating in 1964. He earned a Bachelor of Business Administration in 1968 from the University of New Mexico, where he served on the board of the university’s fund-raising foundation. Ellis earned an MBA in 1970 from Harvard. Ellis is an expert on global commerce, a successful business executive and prominent civic leader in the Los Angeles area.

Francine Gaillour (Bellevue, WA)

Francine Gaillour, MD, MBA, FAAPL, CPE, PCC, is the Founder and Executive Director of the Physician Coaching Institute, an advanced coach training program for coaches seeking to establish or grow their physician-focused coaching practice. Dr. Gaillour completed her undergraduate work in biomedical engineering at the UNM and graduated from the UNM School of Medicine in 1981.

Monica Jojola (Albuquerque, NM)

Monica Jojola is the President of Montech Inc. Established by Jojola in 2011, Montech is an award-winning, certified U.S. Small Business Administration 8(a), Woman Owned Small Business, and American Indian Corporation that offers professional and technical support services for federal and state clients and commercial customers. Under the leadership of Monica Jojola, Montech has multi-year Federal Government contracts in place with personnel in New Mexico; Colorado, Arizona; Oregon; Montana; Wisconsin; and Ohio. A leader in business development, Jojola has more than 20 years of successful executive experience in federal contracting opportunities, including organizing manpower and dedicating resources for multimillion competitive federal contracts.

Brad Preber (Phoenix, AZ).

Brad Preber, who is the CEO of Grant Thornton LLP, a leading global provider of audit, tax and advisory services to companies, non-profit organizations and government entities. Preber graduated from the University of New Mexico in 1981 with a degree in business administration and a concentration in accounting and was inducted into the Robert O. Anderson School of Management Hall of Fame in 2008. He is a certified public accountant in Arizona, Mississippi, New Mexico and Texas, and is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Additionally, the UNM Foundation Board of Trustees welcomed new Executive Officers.

  • Randy Velarde (Houston, TX) completed his two-year term as Chair of the Board and will assume the role of Immediate Past Chair and Chair of the Governance Committee.
  • Ryan Mummert(Albuquerque, NM) commenced his two-year role as Chair of the Board of Trustees and Chair of the Executive Committee.
  • Felicia Finston (Placitas, NM) was elected as Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect for a two-year term.
  • Lameck Lukanga(Beverly Hills, CA), was elected as Assistant Treasurer and Chair of the Finance Committee.
  • Cheryl Fossum Graham(Santa Fe, NM) was elected as Board Secretary.
  • Tom Daulton (Dallas, TX) was elected as National Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Newly appointed members of the Board: 

  • Harris Smith, Dean of the UNM College of Fine Arts
  • Mike Silva, President of the Alumni Association

The UNM Foundation is indebted to work with such an exceptional and accomplished volunteer group and look forward to the year ahead. To learn more about the UNM Foundation Board, visit: https://www.unmfund.org/trustees/

# # #